2010 ITA All-Tournament Team announced for ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championships

November 18, 2009 10:05 AM
SKILLMAN, N.J. - Northwestern junior Maria Mosolova, was voted the Most Outstanding Player of the 2010 ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championship. helped the Wildcats capture their second consecutive ITA National Women's Team Indoor title by posting a 3-1 record at No. 1 including the title-clinching victory over North Carolina's Katrina Tsang in the championship match.

Northwestern became the eighth team in the 23-year history of the tournament to win multiple back-to-back titles. They are also the third straight team to accomplish the feat since 2004, following Georgia Tech's titles in 2007 and 2008 and Stanford's three-year reign from 2004-07.

Maria Mosolova, Northwestern University - No. 1 Singles (3-1)
def. Caitlin Whoriskey (Tennessee), 6-2, 6-2
def. Lauren Embree (Florida), 5-7, 6-3, 6-2
lost to Jana Juricova (California), 6-3, 6-1
def. Katrina Tsang (North Carolina), 7-6, 3-6, 6-1

With Northwestern leading 3-2, 12th-ranked Maria Mosolova stormed out to a 3-0 lead in the third, with Mosolova shutting down Tsang to win the set 6-1 and clinch the 'Cats second-straight championship.

"I think it feels just as good this year as it did last year, especially because we have a new team and a younger team and we didn't know how good we were," Mosolova said after clinching the win. "We just proved to everyone that we stayed at the same level and it feels great."

Mosolova is joined on the All-Tournament Team by the following players and doubles teams:

2010 ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championships All-Tournament Team

No. 1 - Maria Mosolova, Northwestern
No. 2 - Allie Will, Florida
No. 3 - Mari Andersson, California
Elizabeth Potkin, Duke
No. 4 - Lauren Lui, Northwestern
No. 5 - Sophie Grabinski, North Carolina
No. 6 - Christalia Andrews, USC

No. 1 - Mari Andersson/Jana Juricova, California
No. 2 - Katrina Tsang/Shinann Featherston, North Carolina
No. 3 - Samantha Murray/Kate Turvy, Northwestern

This is the second annual ITA National Women's Team Indoor All-Tournament Team. Voters for the team included the 16 participating coaches and the ITA National Ranking Committee. A pair of rivals from the Peach State captured the previous two Most Outstanding Player awards, with Georgia's Chelsey Gullickson and Georgia Tech's Kirsten Flower named the last two recipients of the prestigious award.

For complete tournament information and results, please visit www.ITAtennis.com

CLICK HERE for the Men's All-Tournament Team