2009 NCAA Division I Tennis All-America Teams Announced

March 10, 2009 03:45 PM

SKILLMAN, N.J. -- NCAA singles champions Mallory Cecil of Duke and Devin Britton of Mississippi highlight the 2009 Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) All-America Teams for Division I men's and women's tennis, released today in conjunction with the season-ending Campbell/ITA national singles and doubles rankings.

Both Cecil and Britton captured the NCAA singles titles on Monday in College Station, Texas. It was the first time two freshmen won the men’s and women’s NCAA singles titles in the same year. Britton became just the third freshman to capture the award as a frosh, while Cecil became the seventh since the current format was adopted in 1977. Both champions spent the previous five years training at the Nick Bollettieri Academy in Bradenton, Fla., and entered college in January.

Also highlighting this year's teams are NCAA doubles champs Mari Andersson and Jana Juricova from California and Dominic Inglot and Michael Shabaz from Virginia.

A player must meet any of the following criteria to earn ITA All-America honors:

1.) Top-16 seed in NCAA Singles Championships, or;
2.) Reach round of 16 in NCAA Singles Championships, or;
3.) Finish in the Top 20 of the final ITA Rankings.

1.) Top-eight seed in NCAA Doubles Championships, or;
2.) Reach quarterfinals of NCAA Doubles Championship, or;
3.) Finish in Top 10 of final ITA Rankings

2009 ITA All-America Teams (S - Singles, D - Doubles):

Division I Men's Tennis
Bruno Agostinelli, Kentucky (S)
Omar Altmann, Pepperdine (S, D)
Jean-Yves Aubone, Florida State (S)
Bassam Beidas, Pepperdine (D)
Jonas Berg, Mississippi (S, D)
Devin Britton, Mississippi (S)
Arnau Brugues, Tulsa (S)
Alex Clayton, Stanford (S)
Clay Donato, North Carolina (D)
Robert Farah, USC (S, D)
Taylor Fogleman, North Carolina (D)
Steven Foreman, Wake Forest (D)
Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech (S)
Jamie Hunt, Georgia (D)
Dominic Inglot, Virginia (S, D)
Dean Jackson, San Diego (S)
Steve Johnson, USC (S, D)
Bryan Koniecko, Ohio State (S)
Austin Krajicek, Texas A&M (D)
Dimitar Kutrovsky, Texas (S)
Denes Lukacs, Baylor (S)
Steven Moneke, Ohio State (S)
Oleksandr Nedovyesov, Oklahoma State (S)
Cory Parr, Wake Forest (S, D)
John-Patrick Smith, Tennessee (S, D)
Conor Pollock, Texas A&M (S,D)
Tim Puetz, Auburn (D)
Bruno Rosa, Rice (S)
Davey Sandgren, Tennessee (D)
Nate Schnugg, Georgia (S, D)
Sanam Singh, Virginia (S)
Michael Shabaz, Virginia (D)
Neal Skupski, LSU (D)
Blake Strode, Arkansas (S)
Bram ten Berge, Mississippi (D)
Alexey Tysrenov, Auburn (D)
Daniel Vallverdu, Miami (S)
Michael Venus, LSU (S, D)
Jay Weinacker, NC State (S)

Division I Women's Tennis
Mari Andersson, California (D)
Hilary Barte, Stanford (S, D)
Josipa Bek, Clemson (S, D)
Marrit Boonstra, Florida (S)
Csilla Borsanyi, Baylor (D)
Lenka Broosova, Baylor (D)
Lindsay Burdette, Stanford (D)
Mallory Cecil, Duke (S)
Fani Chifchieva, Auburn (S)
Julia Cohen, Miami (S)
Bianca Eichkorn, Miami (S)
Megan Falcon, LSU (S)
Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech (S)
Amanda Fink, USC (D)
Kristy Frilling, Notre Dame (D)
Nadja Gilchrist, Georgia (D)
Laura Gioia, Furman (S)
Sophie Grabinski, North Carolina (D)
Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia (S, D)
Ina Hadziselimovic, Clemson (D)
Michaela Hein, Arizona State (D)
Jana Juricova, California (S, D)
Renata Kucerkova, Fresno State (D)
Lauren Lui, Northwestern (D)
Sanaz Marand, North Carolina (S, D)
Kelcy McKenna, Arizona State (S, D)
Ani Mijacika, Clemson (S, D)
Aurelija Miseviciute, Arkansas (S)
Maria Mosolova, Northwestern (S)
Gabriela Niculescu, USC (D)
Ellah Nze, Duke (S)
Anastasia Petukhova, Fresno State (D)
Natalie Pluskota, Tennessee (D)
Andrea Remynse, UCLA (D)
Georgia Rose, Northwestern (D)
Nina Munch-Soegaard, TCU (S)
Yasmin Schnack, UCLA (S, D)
Kelcy Tefft, Notre Dame (D)
Laura Vallverdu, Miami-FL (S)
Caitlin Whoriskey, Tennessee (D)
Keri Wong, Clemson (D)
Reka Zsilinszka, Duke (S)

2009 Final Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings:
Men's singles
Men's doubles
Women's singles
Women's doubles