Top collegians set to compete at 2016 USTA/ITA National Indoors

October 31, 2016 03:41 PM

By Sally Milano,

Ohio State junior Mikael Torpegaard and North Carolina senior Hayley Carter, the men's and women's No. 1-ranked players in the 2016-17 Oracle/ITA Collegiate Tennis Rankings, will lead a strong field of top collegiate players set to compete at the 2016 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships.

The event, which will take place Nov. 3-6 at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., , home of the US Open, marks the culmination of the fall collegiate season.

In addition to Torpegaard and Carter, the tournament will also feature Ohio State sophomore and women's defending champion Francesca Di Lorenzo (pictured above), Virginia senior and No. 4-ranked Thai-Son Kwiatkowski, Georgia Tech junior and No. 5 Christopher Eubanks and Stanford junior and No. 6 Tom Fawcett.

Click here for a complete list of players competing in the tournament.

The National Indoors features a 32-player singles draw and a 20-team doubles draw for men and women. Columbia University will serve as the host school for the sixth consecutive year.

As part of the USTA’s increased efforts to support college tennis as a professional development pathway, American players will have the opportunity to earn wild-card entries into future USTA Pro Circuit events with their results at the National Indoors.

If an American wins or reaches the men’s or women’s singles final this weekend, he or she will automatically earn a wild card into a future USTA Pro Circuit tournament. American singles champions will also automatically earn a place on the 2017 USTA Collegiate National Team.

The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships was first held in 1978 for the men and in 1984 for the women. Past champions and finalists include James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), Irina Falconi (Georgia Tech), Nicole Gibbs (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia), Steve Johnson (Southern California), Jamie Loeb (North Carolina), Todd Martin (Northwestern), Lisa Raymond (Florida) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan).

Every match court will be streamed live throughout the tournament, and live scoring for every match will also be available.

Visit the ITA’s event page for links to live scoring and draws, and get all the latest news, photos and information from the National Indoors here.