Fields announced for USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships

October 28, 2011 02:04 PM
The fields for the 2011 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships, which will take place at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center’s Indoor Building, November 3-6, have been announced by the USTA and Intercollegiate Tennis Association. The men’s field will feature reigning ITA All-American champion Mitchell Frank and the ITA’s top-ranked player Alex Domijan, both of the University of Virginia, while the women’s field includes 2010 NCAA Champion Chelsey Gullickson of the University of Georgia and Beatrice Capra of Duke University, who reached the third round at the 2010 US Open.

The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships features a 32-player singles field and 20-team doubles field for men and women, including: champions from the 24 Division I USTA/ITA Regional Championships, the USTA/ITA National Small College champion, the eight quarterfinalists of the ITA Men’s All-American Championships and ITA/Riviera All-American Championships for women, and at-large and wild-card selections made by the ITA and USTA. Additionally, Columbia University, which is serving as the host school for the second consecutive year, will receive a wild-card entry into each draw. In total, 126 players from 54 schools will compete in New York in singles or doubles.

"We are excited to once again partner with the ITA in hosting this event that features some of the country’s top collegiate tennis players," said Patrick McEnroe, General Manager, USTA Player Development. "That the event is held at the home of the US Open provides a unique opportunity for these players to compete on a world-class stage."

Other players in the men’s field include: 2009 USTA Boys’ 18s National Champion Chase Buchanan of Ohio State University; 2008 USTA Boys’ 18s National Clay Court Champion Evan King of the University of Michigan; and 2008 USTA Boys’ 18s National runner-up Ryan Thacher of Stanford University.

In addition to Gullickson and Capra, other participants in the women’s field include: reigning NCAA Champion Jana Juricova of the University of Cal-Berkeley; two-time USTA Girls’ 18s National runner-up Nicole Gibbs of Stanford University; and Lauren Embree of the University of Florida, who won the clinching match for the Gators at the 2011 NCAA Championships.

The field will also feature a number of players from the New York Tri-State area, including Lauren McHale of North Carolina, who hails from Englewood Cliffs, N.J., and is the older sister of the WTA’s No. 2-ranked American Christina McHale; Robin Anderson of UCLA, who hails from Matawan, N.J., and reached the girls’ quarterfinals at the 2010 US Open; Emily Fraser of Virginia, who hails from Rye, N.Y.; and Haig Schneiderman of Columbia, who hails from New York City.

Fans can follow the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships and participate in a daily live chat at

2011 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships – Singles Participants

Andreas Mies, Auburn (JR, Germany)
Damian Hume, Boise State (SR, South Africa)
Haig Schneiderman, Columbia (SR, New York)
Henrique Cunha, Duke (JR, Brazil)
Chris Mengel, Duke (SO, Pittsburgh)
Remi Boutillier, Fresno State (SR, France)
Wil Spencer, Georgia (SR, Ponce de Leon, Fla.)
Kevin King, Georgia Tech (SR, Peachtree City, Ga.)
Roy Kalmanovich, Illinois (SR, Framingham, Mass.)
Dennis Nevolo, Illinois (SR, Gurnee, Ill.)
Alex Musialek, Kentucky (SR, France)
Eric Quigley, Kentucky (SR, Pewee Valley, Ky.)
Evan King, Michigan (JR, Chicago)
Jose Hernandez, North Carolina (JR, Dominican Republic)
Chase Buchanan, Ohio State (SR, New Albany, Ohio)
Blaz Rola, Ohio State (SO, Slovenia)
Tsvetan Mihov, Oklahoma (SO, Bulgaria)
Costin Paval, Oklahoma (JR, Romania)
Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine (JR, Germany)
Finn Tearney, Pepperdine (JR, New Zealand)
Lucas Jovita, Rollins (GR, Brazil)
Vasko Mladenov, St. John’s (JR, Bulgaria)
Ryan Thacher, Stanford (SR, Studio City, Calif.)
Alexis Klegou, Texas A&M (SR, France)
Gonzalo Escobar, Texas Tech (SR, Ecuador)
Daniel Nguyen, USC (SR, Oxnard, Calif.)
Ray Sarmiento, USC (SO, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.)
Alexander Domijan, Virginia (SO, Wesley Chapel, Fla.)
Mitchell Frank, Virginia (FR, Annandale, Va.)
Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia (JR, College Park, Ga.)
Kyle McMorrow, Washington (JR, Thousand Oaks, Calif.)
Jamie Whiteford, William & Mary (JR, Great Britain)

Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama (SO, Ogden, Utah)
Ana Veselinovic, Auburn-Montgomery (SR, Montenegro)
Diana Nakic, Baylor (SR, Slovenia)
Jana Juricova, Cal-Berkeley (SR, Slovak Republic)
Nicole Bartnik, Columbia (JR, Bradenton, Fla.)
Bianca Sanon, Columbia (SO, Plantation, Fla.)
Beatrice Capra, Duke (FR, Ellicott City, Md.)
Lauren Embree, Florida (JR, Marco Island, Fla.)
Joanna Mather, Florida (SR, Duluth, Ga.)
Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia (SR, Palm Beach Gardens, Fla.)
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State (SO, Czech Republic)
Cristina Stancu, Maryland (SO, Romania)
Anna Bartenstein, Miami-Florida (SR, Austria)
Emina Bektas, Michigan (FR, Indianapolis)
Lauren McHale, North Carolina (JR, Englewood Cliffs, N.J.)
Kristy Frilling, Notre Dame (SR, Sidney, Ohio)
Kristi Boxx, Ole Miss (SR, Grenada, Miss.)
Marta Lesniak, SMU (SR, Poland)
Mallory Burdette, Stanford (JR, Jackson, Ga.)
Nicole Gibbs, Stanford (SO, Santa Monica, Calif.)
Natalie Pluskota, Tennessee (SR, Newnan, Ga.)
Aeriel Ellis, Texas (JR, Hayward, Calif.)
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M (JR, Spain)
Sam Vickers, Tulsa (SO, Great Britain)
Robin Anderson, UCLA (FR, Matawan, N.J.)
Aleksandra Josifoska, UNLV (SO, Macedonia)
Danielle Lao, USC (JR, Arcadia, Calif.)
Sabrina Santamaria, USC (FR, Los Angeles)
Zoe Scandalis, USC (FR, San Diego)
Jackie Wu, Vanderbilt (SR, Nashville, Tenn.)
Emily Fraser, Virginia (SR, Rye, N.Y.)
Denise Dy, Washington (SR, San Jose, Calif.)

The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships was inaugurated in 1978 for the men and 1984 for the women. Past champions and finalists include James Blake (Harvard), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), John Isner (Georgia), Lisa Raymond (Florida), Laura Granville (Stanford), Michael Russell (Miami), Paul Annacone (Tennessee), Brad Gilbert (Pepperdine), Todd Martin (Northwestern) and MaliVai Washington (Michigan).