College stars to compete at USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships

November 6, 2012 08:29 AM
The fields for the 2012 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships, which will be held Nov. 8-11 in the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center’s Indoor Building in Flushing, N.Y., have been announced by the USTA and Intercollegiate Tennis Association.

The men’s field will feature two-time and reigning ITA All-American singles champion Alex Domijan and Jarmere Jenkins, the ITA’s No. 2-ranked singles player, both of Virginia. Florida’s Lauren Embree, the 2012 ITA/Riviera Women’s All-American champion who competed in the first round of the 2009 French Open, and Georgia’s Lauren Herring, who played in the 2010 US Open doubles main draw, headline the women’s field.

The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships features a 32-player singles field and 20-team doubles field for men and women, including: men’s and women’s champions from each of the 12 Division I USTA/ITA Regional Championships, the men’s and women’s USTA/ITA National Small College Super Bowl champion, the eight quarterfinalists of the ITA Men’s All-American Championships, the four semifinalists from the ITA/Riviera Women’s All-American Championships and the consolation winners from both, as well as at-large and wild-card selections made by the ITA and USTA. Additionally, Columbia University, which is serving as the host school for the third consecutive year, received a wild-card entry into each draw. In total, 124 players from 45 schools will compete in New York in singles or doubles.

Other players in the men’s field include: UCLA teammates Marcos Giron, the 2011 Easter Bowl 18s champion, and Dennis Mkrtchian, the 2009 USTA International Spring Championship 16s winner, 2009 US Open Junior quarterfinalist Ray Sarmiento of Southern California, as well as Virginia teammates Mac Styslinger, a 2011 USTA 18s National semifinalist, and Harrison Richmond, a former U.S. Junior Davis Cup team member.

In addition to Embree and Herring, other participants in the women’s field include: Florida’s Danielle Collins, the 2012 USTA 18s National Clay Court champion, Stanford’s Krista Hardebeck, a 2012 Australian Open junior semifinalist, and Southern California’s Sabrina Santamaria, the reigning USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships doubles champion.

The field will also feature a number of players from the New York Tri-State area, including UCLA sophomore Robin Anderson, from Matawan, N.J., Princeton freshman Amanda Muliawan, from Wyckoff, N.J., and Elon sophomore Cameron Silverman, from Mount Kisco, N.Y.

The USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships was inaugurated in 1978 for the men and 1984 for the women. Past champions and finalists include John Isner (Georgia), Bob and Mike Bryan (Stanford), James Blake (Harvard), Lisa Raymond (Florida), Steve Johnson (Southern California), Rhyne Williams (Tennessee), Irina Falconi (Georgia Tech) and Maria Sanchez (Southern California).

Fans can follow the USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships and participate in a daily live chat at

2012 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships – Singles Participants


Guillermo Alcorta, Oklahoma (RS JR, Spain)
Adrien Berkowicz, Tyler Junior College (JR, France)
Romain Bogaerts, Mississippi State (FR, Belgium)
Enej Bonin, Denver (SR, Slovenia)
Henrique Cunha, Duke (SR, Brazil)
Japie De Klerk, Tulsa (JR, South Africa)
Florent Diep, Florida (JR, France)
Alex Domijan, Virginia (JR, Wesley Chapel, Fla.)
Sebastian Fanselow, Pepperdine (SR, Germany)
Marcos Giron, UCLA (SO, Thousand Oaks, Calif.)
Esben Hess-Olesen, North Carolina (SO, Denmark)
Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia (SR, College Park, Ga.)
Peter Kobelt, Ohio State (RS JR, New Albany, Ohio)
John Lamble, Santa Clara (SO, Saratoga, Calif.)
Julian Lenz, Baylor (FR, Germany)
Mikelis Libietis, Tennessee (SO, Latvia)
Winston Lin, Columbia (SO, Williamsville, N.Y.)
Ryan Lipman, Vanderbilt (RS JR, Nashville, Tenn.)
Jonas Lutjen, Mississippi (SR, Germany)
Ben McLachlan, California, Berkeley (JR, New Zealand)
Dennis Mkrtchian, UCLA (SO, Reseda, Calif.)
Matija Pecotic, Princeton (SR, India)
Harrison Richmond, Virginia (FR, Pawleys Island, S.C.)
Ray Sarmiento, Southern California (JR, Rancho Cucamonga, Calif.)
Nik Scholtz, Mississippi (SO, South Africa)
Cameron Silverman, Elon (SO, Mount Kisco, N.Y.)
KU Singh, Georgia (SR, India)
Vlad Stefan, Michigan (SO, Romania)
Mac Styslinger, Virginia (FR, Birmingham, Ala.)
Leandro Toledo, Minnesota (SO, Germany)
Victor Valente, Georgia State (SR, Brazil)
Daniel Whitehead, Texas (SR, Sugar Land, Texas)

Robin Anderson, UCLA (SO, Matawan, N.J.)
Nicole Bartnik, Columbia (SR, Bradenton, Fla.)
Natalie Beazant, Rice (SO, England)
Brynn Boren, Tennessee (JR, Laguna Niguel, Calif.)
Danielle Collins, Florida (FR, St. Petersburg, Fla.)
Zoe De Bruycker, North Carolina (SR, Saratoga, Calif.)
Lauren Embree, Florida (SR, Marco Island, Fla.)
Krista Hardebeck, Stanford (FR, Santa Ana, Calif.)
Alexa Guarachi, Alabama (SR, Destin, Fla.)
Lauren Herring, Georgia (SO, Greenville, N.C.)
Petra Januskova, Penn State (SR, Ottawa, Canada)
Aleksandra Josifoska, UNLV (JR, Macedonia)
Whitney Kay, North Carolina (FR, Alpharetta, Ga.)
Maho Kowase, Georgia (JR, Japan)
Barbora Krtickova, Armstrong Atlantic State (JR, Czech Republic)
Danielle Lao, Southern California (SR, Arcadia, Calif.)
Katie Le, Santa Clara (SO, Milpitas, Calif.)
Mary Anne Macfarlane, Alabama (JR, Ogden, Utah)
Hanna Mar, Duke (JR, Burr Ridge, Ill.)
Amanda Muliawan, Princeton (FR, Wyckoff, N.J.)
Petra Niedermayerova, Kansas State (JR, Czech Republic)
Sofie Oyen, Florida (JR, Belgium)
Caroline Rohde-Moe, Mississippi (JR, Norway)
Cristina Sanchez-Quintanar, Texas A&M (SR, Spain)
Sabrina Santamaria, Southern California (SO, Los Angeles)
Zoe Scandalis, Southern California (SO, San Diego)
Anett Schutting, California, Berkeley (JR, Estonia)
Gina Suarez-Malaguti, North Carolina (SR, Pembroke Pines, Fla.)
Zsofi Susanyi, California, Berkeley (SO, Hungary)
Kata Szekely, Tennessee (SR, Hungary)
Abigail Tere-Apisah, Georgia State (JR, Papua New Guinea)
Kate Turvy, Northwestern (SR, Dublin, Ohio)

(Participants subject to change.)

USTA and Collegiate Tennis
For the third straight year this fall, the USTA will serve as title sponsor and host of the USTA/ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center’s Indoor Tennis Center. The USTA also served as the title sponsor of the USTA/ITA National Small College Championships, the USTA/ITA National Collegiate Wheelchair Championships and more than 85 USTA/ITA Regional Tournaments. In all, close to 10,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the USTA/ITA Regional Championships. The USTA also names its Collegiate Team, an elite training program for top American collegiate tennis players that began in 1996 and is funded by the USTA. It is designed to provide college players with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment during the year. Current pros who were members of prior USTA Summer Collegiate Teams include: James Blake, Bob Bryan, Mike Bryan, John Isner, Mallory Burdette and Irina Falconi.