Virginia's Sanam Singh receives ITA Sportsmanship Award

November 18, 2009 10:05 AM

CHARLOTTESVILLE, Va. -- Sanam Singh of the University of Virginia received the ITA Sportsmanship Award Sunday at the ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship, hosted by the University of Virginia at Boar's Head Sports Club.

Singh, a junior from Chandigarh, India, was chosen for this annual award by the 16 participating coaches for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the Team Indoor Championship as well as throughout his career.

Singh is currently ranked No. 12 in singles and No. 5 in doubles with partner Houston Barrick in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings. He recently captured the UVA Fall Invitational and UVA Plus-One Invitational Singles titles and made it to the round of 16 at the ITA/D'Novo Men's All-American Championships.

A member of the two-time defending ITA National Men's Indoor Champions, Singh was named MVP of last year's tournament. The Cavaliers are looking to continue their dominance by making it to Monday's finals, already claiming victories over No. 3 Ohio State, No. 7 Georgia and No. 15 Alabama.

Singh becomes the first Virginia player to win this award in the 19 years it has been presented.

The ITA National Men's Team Indoor Championship will conclude tomorrow with the championship match scheduled for 12 p.m. ET.

Past ITA Sportsmanship Award Winners:
2009 - Alex Clayon, Stanford
2008 - Erling Tveit, Mississippi
2007 - Luke Shields, Boise State
2006 - Jonathan Stokke, Duke
2005 - Hamid Mirzadeh, Florida
2004 - Chris Lam, UCLA
2003 - Rajeev Ram, Illinois
2002 - David Martin, Stanford
2001 - Jimmy Haney, TCU
2000 - Ramsey Smith, Duke
1999 - Ryan Wolters, Stanford
1998 - Thomas Blake, Harvard
1997 - Eddie Jacques, Georgia
1996 - Jeff Salzenstein, Stanford
1995 - Paul Goldstein, Stanford
1994 - Michael Hopkinson, Kentucky
1993 - Chris Woodruff, Tennessee
1992 - Jason Yee, Stanford