Duke's Amanda Granson receives ITA Sportsmanship Award

November 18, 2009 10:05 AM

MADISON, Wis. -- Amanda Granson of Duke University received the ITA Sportsmanship Award Sunday at the ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championship, hosted by the University of Wisconsin at A.C. Nielsen Tennis Stadium.

Granson, a senior from Hilton Head, S.C., was chosen for this annual award by the 16 participating coaches for displaying outstanding sportsmanship and exemplifying the spirit of college tennis during the course of the Team Indoor Championship as well as throughout her career.

A member of the 2009 NCAA Team Champions, Granson, currently ranked No. 80 in singles in the Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings, played a pivotal role in Duke's journey towards its first National Championship in program history. She was named to the NCAA All-Tournament Team. The Blue Devils are looking to continue their dominance by making it to Monday's final, already claiming victories over No. 8 USC and host Wisconsin.

Granson becomes the first Duke player and the fifth player from a North Carolina school to win this award in the 18 years it has been presented.

The ITA National Women's Team Indoor Championship will conclude tomorrow with the championship match scheduled for 11 a.m. CT.

Past ITA Sportsmanship Award Winners:
2009 - Lauren Lui, Northwestern
2008 - Brook Buck, Notre Dame
2007 - Jenna Long, North Carolina
2006 - Natalie Frazier, Georgia
2005 - Kendall Cline, North Carolina
2004 - Amber Liu, Stanford
2003 - Sara Walker, UCLA
2002 - Janet Bergman, Wake Forest
2001 - Keiko Tokuda, Stanford
2000 - Alison Ojeda, Tennessee
1999 - Jennifer Hall, Notre Dame
1998 - Julie Scott, Stanford
1997 - Lauren Nikolaus, William & Mary
1996 - Margie Lepsi, Tennessee
1995 - Dana Evans, Wake Forest
1994 - Wendy Crabtree, Notre Dame
1993 - Erica Kuttler, Florida