ITA/Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership & Sportsmanship Award winners, ITA All-Star Team to be honored during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day

July 14, 2010 07:31 AM
SKILLMAN, N.J. - The Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA) announced the 10 National winners of the 2010 Arthur Ashe, Jr. Leadership and Sportsmanship Award and the 27th edition of the ITA All-Star Team, which features the nation's top-ranked players and National Champions from the 2009-10 season.
These remarkable student-athletes will be treated by the ITA and United States Tennis Association (USTA) to a weekend in New York, highlighted by activities during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on Saturday, August 28. The group will be honored at the ITA awards luncheon, hosted by the USTA in the President's Dining Room Suite. Lucy Garvin, Chairman of the Board and President of the USTA, David A Benjamin, ITA Executive Director, David Dinkins, former Mayor of New York City and a member of the USTA Board of Directors, are among those who will be on hand to present the awards.
The ITA/Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award recognizes outstanding individuals in all divisions at the regional and national level. This award, which dates back to 1982, goes to NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and JuCo men's and women's players who have exhibited outstanding sportsmanship and leadership, as well as scholastic, extracurricular and tennis achievements. The 2010 recipients include:
Division I: Jason Jung, Michigan
Division II: Lorenzo Cava, Bentley
Division III: Matt de Vlieger, Calvin
NAIA: Oliver Sindayigay, Lewis-Clark St.
JuCo: Andres Cepede, Meridian CC
Division I: Catherine Newman, Vanderbilt
Division II: Natalia Ramos, FIT
Division III: Julia Browne, Tufts
NAIA: Sheryl Bon, Azusa Pacific
JuCo: Jamie Blackim, Cowley CC
This 27th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players from the season-ending Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as champions from the 2009 ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships and 2010 NCAA Championships.
Highlighting this year's team are the Campbell/ITA National Players of the Year: Irina Falconi of Georgia Tech and Robert Farah of USC.
Division I Singles - Men
Robert Farah, Southern California - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Steve Johnson, Southern California - ITA National Indoor Champion
Bradley Klahn, Stanford - NCAA Champion
Division I Singles - Women
Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Jana Juricova, California - ITA National Indoor Champion
Chelsey Gullickson, Georgia - NCAA Champion
Division I Doubles Teams - Men
Reid Carleton/Henrique Cunha, Duke - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Bradley Klahn/Ryan Thacher, Stanford - ITA National Indoor Champions
Drew Courtney/Michael Shabaz, Virginia - NCAA Champions
Division I Doubles Teams - Women
Natalie Pluskota/Caitlin Whoriskey, Tennessee - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Hilary Barte/Lindsay Burdette, Stanford - ITA National Indoor Champions, NCAA Champions
Kristy Frilling/Kali Krisik, Notre Dame - No. 2 Campbell/ITA Rankings
Division II - Men
Mikk Irdoja, Armstrong Atlantic - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Division II - Women
Yuan Jia, BYU-Hawaii - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Division III - Men
John Watts, Washington-St. Louis - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Division III - Women
Julia Browne, Tufts - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
NAIA - Men
Alberto Gonzalez, Auburn-Montgomery - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking 
NAIA - Women
Gabriela Bergmanova, Vanguard - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
Damian Hume, Collin CC - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking 
NJCAA - Women
Olivia Howlett, Hillsborough CC - No. 1 Campbell/ITA Ranking
The USTA announced earlier that chart-topping pop superstars Jonas Brothers and TV and recording sensation Demi Lovato will hold court with tennis world No. 1 Rafael Nadal, Andy Roddick, Kim Clijsters and Novak Djokovic at the 15th Annual Arthur Ashe Kids' Day presented by Hess, Saturday, August 28, at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center in Flushing, N.Y., from 9:30 a.m.-4 p.m.
"We have seen some of the biggest names in tennis and entertainment on the court during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day presented by Hess," said Harlan Stone, Chief Marketing Officer, USTA. "Our 15th year will be no different, and this day of excitement and fun for kids and families, will again honor a great humanitarian and icon of our sport."
Over the years, Arthur Ashe Kids' Day has featured many of music's biggest acts, including Justin Bieber, Rihanna, Jessica Simpson, Britney Spears, Jordin Sparks, Backstreet Boys, Ne-Yo, Sean Kingston, Jesse McCartney, Bow Wow and Hanson.