Top Americans named to USTA Summer Collegiate Team

June 17, 2010 09:13 PM
The USTA announced that 25 of the nation's top men's and women's collegiate tennis players have been named to the 2010 USTA Summer Collegiate Team, administered by the USTA and the Intercollegiate Tennis Association (ITA).

The USTA Summer Collegiate Team is an elite training program for the top American collegiate tennis players. The program began in 1996 and is funded by the USTA. It is designed to provide college players with valuable exposure to the USTA Pro Circuit in a team-oriented environment during the summer months.

In addition to competing on the USTA Pro Circuit, USTA Player Development will host two Pro Tour Transition camps – one for men, one for women – for the selected players. The men’s camp will be held June 21-24 on clay courts in Boca Raton, Fla., and coached by USTA National Coach David Dilucia, while the women’s camp will be conducted June 27-July 1 on hard courts in Boca Raton and coached by USTA National Coach Sarah Taylor.

The following players have been selected to this year’s team:

Men’s Team

Sekou Bangoura, Florida (FR, Bradenton, Fla.)
Chase Buchanan, Ohio State (SO, New Albany, Ohio)
Drew Courtney, Virginia (SO, Clifton, Va.)
Jarmere Jenkins, Virginia (FR, College Park, Ga.)
Steve Johnson, Southern California (SO, Orange, Calif.)
Evan King, Michigan (FR, Chicago)
Bradley Klahn, Stanford (SO, Poway, Calif.)
Austin Krajicek, Texas A&M (JR, Brandon, Fla.)
Daniel Nguyen, Southern California (SO, Oxnard, Calif.)
Eric Quigley, Kentucky (SO, Pewee Valley, Ky.)
Tennys Sandgren, Tennessee (FR, Gallatin, Tenn.)
Bob van Overbeek, Florida (FR, Boca Raton, Fla.)
Rhyne Williams, Tennessee (FR, Knoxville, Tenn.)

Women's Team

Hilary Barte, Stanford (JR, Chatsworth, Calif.)
Lindsay Burdette, Stanford (SR, Jackson, Ga.)
Mallory Burdette, Stanford (FR, Jackson, Ga.)
Aeriel Ellis, Texas (FR, Hayward, Calif.)
Lauren Embree, Florida (FR, Marco Island, Fla.)
Irina Falconi, Georgia Tech (SO, Jupiter, Fla.)
Kristy Frilling, Notre Dame (SO, Sidney, Ohio)
McCall Jones, BYU (SO, Orange County, Calif.)
Danielle Lao, Southern California (FR, Arcadia, Calif.)
Maria Sanchez, Southern California (JR, Modesto, Calif.)
Caitlin Whoriskey, Tennessee (SR, East Sandwich, Mass.)
Allie Will, Florida (FR, Boca Raton, Fla.)

For the second consecutive year, each team will have two coaches. Jamea Jackson, Assistant Coach of Women’s Tennis at Oklahoma State University and Julia Scaringe, Assistant Coach of Women’s Tennis at Notre Dame, will coach the women’s team, while Chris Brandi, Assistant Coach of Men’s Tennis at Baylor University, and Bo Hodge, Assistant Coach of Men’s Tennis at the University of Alabama, will be coaching the men's team. Brandi also coached the men’s team in 2009.

The top six American players from the season-ending ITA national singles rankings are eligible for automatic selections. The remaining players on each team were selected by USTA Player Development staff in conjunction with USTA National Coaches, and current collegiate coaches. Eighteen of the players selected received 2010 ITA All-American honors.

The women's team includes five of the top seven American players from the final national singles rankings: Falconi, who finished No. 1 overall after winning the Riviera/ITA All-American singles title, Barte, Sanchez, Embree and Whoriskey. Embree was named ITA National Rookie of the Year while Whoriskey was named ITA Senior Player of the Year. Barte will make her third consecutive appearance on the team, while Falconi, Sanchez, Whoriskey and Lindsay Burdette will all join the team for the second straight year.

Klahn captured the NCAA Division I Championships while Buchanan, the 2009 USTA Boys’ 18s National Champion, Johnson and Quigley all finished their final seasons ranked among the Top 10 in the national rankings. Krajicek – the 2008 USTA Boys’ 18s National Champion – was named ITA National Player to Watch, while Johnson won the ITA Division I National Indoor Championship. Johnson, Klahn and Krajicek were named to the team for the second consecutive year.

Current pros who were members of prior USTA Summer Collegiate Teams include: James Blake, Bob and Mike Bryan, Amer Delic, Laura Granville, John Isner, Jesse Levine, Todd Paul, Sam Warburg, and Jesse Witten.

For the first time this fall, the USTA will serve as title sponsor and host of the USTA/ITA National Intercollegiate Indoor Championships, held at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center’s new indoor tennis facility. The USTA will also serve as the title sponsor of the USTA/ITA National Small College Championships, the USTA/ITA National Collegiate Wheelchair Championships and 88 USTA/ITA Regional Tournaments. In all, close to 10,000 players from nearly 600 schools participate annually in the ITA Regional Championships, which encompass 24 host sites from the Division I level and 64 from the small college divisions nationwide.